img_1561

img_1566
Also known as buckeyes, these peanut butter balls are wonderful.  I like to roll them into the size of a walnut –just enough for two bites.  My husband (who doesn’t eat sweets, but for some reason loves these), likes them a bit smaller so he can eat it all at once.  So here’s the FOURTH installment from Christmas cookie day.
2 cups peanut butter (I like JIFF)
1 lb powdered sugar
1/2 cup soft butter or margarine
1 1/2 pkgs semi-sweet choc.chips
3 cups crushed krisp rice cereal, like rice krispies I just use the off brand
1/3 bar shaved paraffin wax**


Mix the peanut butter, margarine or butter, Rice Krispies, and powdered sugar by hand. Immediately after mixing, make small balls from mixture, then chill. For the coating, melt wax and chocolate chips in to of a double boiler. Dip balls into chocolate and let set on parchment or wax paper.

**I know, I know– paraffin wax?  Well, if you want to temper your own chocolate go for it, but you need to use something other than chocolate chips (e.g. dark chocolate.  Oh, and I think milk chocolate would make these already sweet treats a little too sugary–even for me).

