asian-noodle-salad1

Last night I went to the fridge hoping for inspiration.  I knew that I needed to use up some random vegetables and when I saw a jar of Spicy Peanut Asian dressing in the side door I knew I had found a winner.  A meal from desperation turned out to be something I would happily make again and again.

1 Large carrot, ruffly chopped
1 small yellow onion, chopped
1 rib celery, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/2 avocado, chopped
1/2 cup almonds or peanuts (or both), chopped
1/2 apple, chopped
1/2 lb orzo pasta, or rice noodles
your favorite spicy peanut dressing (I like Trader Joe’s)
parsley

In a saute pan over med heat, drizzle a small amount of olive oil and add onions and garlic (and celery if you like it better cooked).  Cook, stirring occasionally until translucent.  Meanwhile, bring a pot of water to boil and add a pinch of salt and pasta.  Cook per the directions on the box, draining when complete.  Allow both the finished onion mixture and the pasta to cool and place in a small mixing or serving bowl.  Add in all other ingredients, tossing with the dressing until well coated.  Sprinkle with chopped parsley and serve room temp or straight out of the fridge (whichever you prefer).  I like to have mine with a little green tea.

