hummus

Yum!  I love hummus.  I especially love hummus when it has that sharp garlic and zingy lemon taste.  I love that it’s crazy easy to make, I love that it works great on a sandwich in place of mustard/mayo, I love how wonderful it tastes on top of raw veggies, I love how low it is on the glycemic index, and I love how it makes a quick lunch or a great snack.  Oh, and I love it even more when I throw in some fresh cilantro.

2 Cans (15 oz) drained and rinsed Garbanzo beans
4oz Tahini (in the refrigerated section at Trader Joe’s and most other good grocery stores)
3-5 Garlic cloves, peeled
Juice of 3 lemons
1-2 T. Water
1 t. salt
Handful of Cilantro, fresh (optional)

In the bowl of a food processor (you could probably do this in a blender too, but if you have the processor it will have a more even texture) throw in all ingredients.  Mix.  Taste for seasoning.  Enjoy.

