guacamole

Hurray for avocado season!   My recipe for guacamole is ever evolving.  I’m always trying new types of peppers and mixes of citrus.  Either way, here is the base recipe to get you started:

5 avocados  (I like a nice big batch because I could eat most of a normal size on in a single sitting)
4-5 cloves garlic, pealed
1 handful fresh cilantro, cleaned
Juice of 1 lemon
Juice of 1 lime
2 t. salt
1-2 hot peppers (depending on how large they are), I use anything from Serrano to oven roasted Poblanos.

In a food processor, mix all ingredients until smooth.  If desired, add chopped onion, tomatoes, etc.  Oh, and before you go crazy with the salt, make sure to taste it with a chip (all chips have different amounts of salt and it can be overbearing once they’re in the picture).

