balsamic-pork-and-onions

This was a happy find a few nights ago.  While breezing through my Jamie Oliver At Home cookbook (if you haven’t been able to tell, I’m trying to cook through this one), I stumbled across this recipe and knew it would give me the opportunity to use my new cast iron pot.  Although I used most of the same ingredients, I changed around a lot of the quantities and steps so as to not have tons of food for just two of us and also so that I could go to work in the garden for 30 min instead of standing over the stove.  Result?  Pretty great.  I’d love to take some time and make the original recipe when we’re having company.  I’ll keep you updated.  Oh, and I found a bag of mixed potatoes at Trader Joe’s (red, new, and purple), that MADE this dish–highly recommended.

1 Pork Tenderloin (1-2 lbs)
1 tsp Fennel Seeds
A handful fresh Rosemary
Salt/Pepper

1 1/2 wineglass full of White Wine
1 Cup Balsamic Vinegar
Olive Oil

6 cloves garlic (or more if you like)
2 ribs Celery
2 bay leaves
a handful of potatoes, cut in quarters
1 large Red Onion, cut in quarters or rings

Preheat oven to 400F.  Boil potatoes for 8 min.  Meanwhile, on a cutting board, chop rosemary and fennel seeds and spread out over board.  Sprinkle board with salt and pepper.  Then roll the pork loin in the seasoning.  In a med. size oven/stove safe pot, place over med-high heat and drizzle with olive oil.  Add pork and brown for 3-4 min and turn over.  While the other side is browning, add potatoes, onions, celery, bay, garlic, and wine.  Cook 3 more minutes and then place on the bottom rack of the oven.  Cook for 20 min or until the tenderloin juice runs clear, basting halfway through.  Remove pork from pan and let rest for 10 minutes.  While the pork is resting, add the vinegar and simmer on the stove until the liquid is reduced by half.  Remove from the heat and add the pork back to the pan.  Enjoy.

