greek-orzo-salad-1

I had a little left over shrimp and cucumber left over from my sushi endeavor the other night and was trying to figure out what to make.  When I noticed the orzo at the back of the pantry and the feta at the back of the fridge, I thought of this Bobby Flay recipe I ran across a while ago.  I only had to change a couple of things around.  My tomato plants in my yard are looking great, but aren’t quite at the “pick me” stage, so I used some sun dried tomatoes I had in the fridge.  I also threw in some capers (because I had them and they’re lovely).  Thankfully my dill was looking nice and full, so I was able to utilize my own stock with some parsley for good measure.

Here’s Bobby’s original recipe:

3/4 pound orzo, cooked al dente
1 large cucumber, seeded, quartered lengthwise, and sliced
3 green onions, thinly sliced
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill, plus extra for garnish
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
1/2 cup olive oil, plus additional for brushing shrimp
Salt and freshly ground pepper
3/4 pound feta cheese crumbled
16 medium shrimp, peeled and de-veined

Combine orzo, cucumber, green onions, and tomatoes in a large bowl. Place dill, vinegar, and mustard in a blender* and blend until smooth. With the motor running, slowly add the olive oil and blend until emulsified. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Pour the vinaigrette over the orzo mixture and stir well to combine. Gently fold in the feta cheese.

Heat grill to high. Brush shrimp with oil and season with salt and pepper. Grill for approximately 2 minutes per side or until just cooked through. Divide orzo salad among 4 take-out containers or plates and top with 4 shrimp. Garnish with additional dill.

*I was too lazy to think about washing my blender out so I just chopped the herbs and threw them in a bowl, mixing all ingredients with a fork.  I love my dishwasher.

