cookiemonster1

seasame-street-cake1

racheal-birthday1

cookie monster cake

Saturday was my niece’s first birthday party.  It’s crazy to think that she’s getting so old!  She is really starting to enjoy Sesame Street, so the cake I made for her was with Cookie Monster and Elmo.  As pictured, the little monster was into the cookies, per usual, and Elmo was hiding behind the other side looking for cupcakes.  This was my first shot at fondant, and needless to say it was a pretty big learning experience.  It didn’t turn out perfectly, but by the end of it all I was excited that I had taken on something I had always been intimidated by.  Next time should be even better.  Using the Wilton Jel Icing colors worked well and the figurines tasted fine (a little sweet, but without the artificial dye flavor).  I used Martha Stewart’s One Bowl Chocolate Cake recipe with the Barefoot Contessa’s Chocolate Icing, making for a moist and tender cake.  I was told I’m officially “rehired” for next year.  Oh, and Rachael seemed to think it tasted alright too.

