eggy basket copy

eggy basket2 copy

Remember, Remember the Fifth of November…

The words ring in my ears over the sizzle of the frying pan.  I always think of V for Vendetta whenever I have this.  If you haven’t seen the movie and are feeling out of the loop, here’s the youtube of the scene.  Egg in a basket, Rocky mountain toast, Egg in the hole, Toad in the hole, or whatever you want to call it— this breakfast treat is something that I more often find myself cooking for dinner alone than I do anything else.  There is something so wonderfully simple and often nostalgic about it, that it makes a long day seem just a little bit better (especially on a night when the husband is out and I’m cooking for one).

What you need:

Eggs, bread, butter,* frying pan, salt and pepper.

Heat the pan and butter over med-high heat until the butter is melted.  Meanwhile cut or tear a hole in the center of the bread just a little larger than the yolk of an egg.  Tilt the pan to spread the butter around evenly and place the bread in the pan.  Crack the egg and hovering very close to the bread, very gently drop the egg into the hole.  Let sizzle there for a minute or two, or until the bread is nicely toasted.  Carefully flip the bread/egg and repeat on the other side.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper and eat up!

*Yes, REAL butter.  Although if you’ve just cooked up some bacon I’m sure the bacon fat will do wonderfully (side thought that I’m now drooling about).

