salsa

If you don’t like cilantro, consider yourself warned.  This salsa is full of bright flavors and is great as a base for fish tacos.  I was wandering out in my garden a couple of days ago ripping out everything that went to seed in our recent heat wave, and couldn’t believe how many tomatoes and peppers I had.  Then I had a  stroke of genius and decided it was time to make a bunch of salsa and can it for the tomato-less months to come.  This little ramekin contained the leftovers that were very shortly thereafter devoured.  After tweaking this recipe over the last few years, here are a few words of advice:

  1. Always do a few taste tests (especially with a chip, as it has a decent amount of its own salt you’ll want to factor in).
  2. Salsa only gets hotter as it sits, so make it a tiny bit less spicy than you actually want it if you’re making it ahead of time.
  3. Give  yourself the license to play with the recipe.  If you don’t really like it to have a strong onion taste, but love garlic, adjust the recipe to what you like.  I love cilantro, so I had a large bunch.  I’m told you can switch the cilantro for parsley, and though you’re welcome to try this, I really can’t believe that this will taste right (but that’s from a cilantro lover, so take that with a grain of salt).
  4. I like onions, cilantro, and peppers to be pretty finely ground, so I place them in the food processor first and get them nice an pulverized before I add the rest.

1/2 Large yellow onion
1/2 Large red onion
1 Large bunch of cilantro (about 1 cup firmly packed)
6 Cloves garlic
2-4 Hot peppers (I like a combo of pablanos and serranos)
2 Cans stewed tomatoes*
3 Large handfuls (about 2lbs) fresh tomatoes (deseeded if large)
1/2  Lemon, Juiced
2 Limes, Juiced
1 tsp. Cumin, ground
Salt to taste

Grind it all up in a food processor, using the pulse function until it hits your desired consistency.  Stick it in the fridge and let the flavors hang out together for a bit, pull our your chips and scoop away.

*If you have a ton of fresh tomatoes on hand, you can skip the canned and just add more fresh.  My rule of thumb is to fill a regular sized food processor up to the top prior to “pulsing.”

