Fish Tacos5

I’ve never seemed to be able to keep a goldfish alive very long.  All throughout childhood, try as I might, sooner or later I would come home to a dead fish.  Poor Goldie.  Maybe my subconscious was trying to tell me something: dead fish=good.  Don’t believe me?  Give this a try:

3 fillets of Talapia or other white fish (e.g. orange roughy, sole)
Jar of Salsa (about 2 cups worth, Trader Joes’ Double Fire Roasted is pretty good, but why not make your own?)
4 cloves Garlic, peeled and smashed
1/2 C. Lime Juice
Cabbage*
1 Bunch Cilantro, ruffly chopped
1 t. Cumin, ground
A wineglass full of White Wine (dry)
Cilantro
Sour Cream
Corn Tortillas

In a large skillet drizzled with olive oil over med-high heat, brown the fish fillets (a couple of minutes per side).  Meanwhile, steam the cabbage (if desired) until soft (about 20 min).  Add the salsa, white wine, cumin, lime juice, and garlic.  Turn the stove down to med-low heat and let simmer for 20 min. or until most of the liquid has evaporated.  Add the cilantro to the mixture and serve with soft or fried corn tortillas, sour cream, and cabbage.

Fish tacos1

Fish tacos2

Fish Tacos3

Fish tacos4

*I like raw cabbage shredded over these, but the husband doesn’t like cabbage period.  After I was able to get him to try it steamed, he found he actually preferred the taco with it.  If you don’t like cabbage, steam it and give it a go.  You might be pleasantly surprised.

