hot cocoa mix copy

I know that it’s not quite cold enough for this.  Yet, seeing as I’m headed to Lake Tahoe this weekend, which is going to be having nights in the 30s, I thought making a stash of creamy, warm, comforting cocoa was just what the vacation/doctor ordered.  Maybe if I keep trying to push the fall food the weather will catch on and give us some relief from this heat.

  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 cup cocoa (Dutch-process preferred)
  • 3 1/2 cups powdered milk
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper, or more to taste
  • Hot water

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl and incorporate evenly. In a small pot, heat 4 to 6 cups of water.

Fill your mug a little less than half full with the mixture and pour in hot water. Stir to combine. Seal the rest in an airtight container, keeps indefinitely in the pantry. I placed mine in an old milk bottle I washed out, which was a pretty great re-use.  This also works great with warm milk.

(adapted from Alton Brown, see Food Network)

