Whole Whole—there’s so  much that I want to say to you.  I love how you taste nutty and earthy and how you have such a lovely hearty texture.  However, I don’t love how you tend to make things unbearably dense and occasionally bitter.  I want to love you unconditionally, I really do, but I can’t.  Maybe I’m just too selfish, or maybe you’re just unwilling to change, but I just can’t see us making this work.  I don’t want to keep adulterating you by mixing you with White Flour to make you palatable.  I know this sounds harsh, but that’s how it is.

Whole Wheat had a response that not only stopped my melancholy monologue dead in its tracks, but renewed my love for it in a way I didn’t think possible.  What an easy solution to a seemingly unsolvable problem.

In a bread machine add:

1 1/8 cups water
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/3 cup honey
1 tablespoon yogurt
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast

Remove from machine, roll into a log, place in a well oil/floured loaf pan, and allow to rise for about an hour, or until it’s filled the pan.  Bake at 350F for 40-45 min or until golden brown, with an internal temp of 200F (or crunchy on the outside and hollow sounding when tapped on the bottom).

