After my planting day last weekend, I had quite a nice handful of leeks that I had pulled out of the yard.  Since it was such a rainy start to the week, I thought some soup and warm sandwiches would be nice.  I was surprised how much I enjoyed the combination.  With a stolen sip of Trevor’s wine, the meal was perfect.

1/2 cup heavy cream
3 teaspoons fresh thyme, chopped
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter
2 pounds crimini (baby bella) mushrooms, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices (10 1/2 cups)
3 large leeks, white and pale green parts only, cut into 1/4-inch dice (2 1/2 cups)
2 tsp. fresh rosemary, chopped
3-5 cloves garlic
3/4 C. dry white wine
6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
6 cups chicken stock or canned low-sodium chicken broth
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

