Sigh, the crock pot.  Now I’m sure that many of you have made peace with, and may even love, your crock pot.  I, however, seem to have very few good memories associated with anything coming out of one.  With the little one on the way, though, it’s become apparent that I might need to look into this a bit more to help out with the time constraints to come.  I’ll keep you updated with what I find.  In the meantime, this was a killer first attempt:

1 medium vidalia onion, sliced
8 garlic cloves, crushed
1 cup soy sauce
1 cup balsamic vinegar
2 cup chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3 bay leaves
1 (3 lb)  roasting chickens, cut into pieces

The joy of the crockpot? Throw everything in, place on low heat (or 8-10 hr. cook time), go to work or about your day, and come home to a heavenly smell and some pretty tasty food.  Serve with steamed rice.

(Adapted from recipezaar.com)

