To indulge or to eat well—that is the question.  Well, I’m here to tell you that this is indulging…..and eating well.  I love it when those two things go hand in hand.  It’s not as often as I would like, but when it crosses your path unexpectedly, what’s a girl to do?

I was over at the Pang House (good friends who like good food) the other night and when this cookie monster was offered the bewitching treat.  The flavor was peanut-butter-y with dark chocolate chips littered throughout and the texture, well, it was to die for.  Thankfully they were small, so I helped myself to two.  Even Mr. I-Don’t-Eat-Sweets-Husband-Man helped himself to a couple.  Now THAT’S saying something.

½ cup butter
½ cup ground flax seed
¾ cup brown sugar
¼ cup white or raw sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 ¼ cup flour
½ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375F. Cream together butter, sugars, and flax seed. Add egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl combine all dry ingredients (except the chips). Mix with wet and then add in the chips.

Bake walnut sized balls on cookie sheet for 10 min.

