Let me start this off by saying that this was an experimental batch.  I didn’t have a recipe for the combo, but since we were making Strawberry Jam anyhow and I had more excess Rhubarb in the back yard, I thought “what the hey…”

Um, yeah—-it payed off.  I only wish that I had done the whole 20 jars that way, instead of this small batch of 5-6 jars.  I feel very protective of them at the moment; wanting to hover over them like baby birds.  My sister went home with a jar (see how much I love you, Monkey?!!?!) and there are already a few requests trickling in.  I’ll have to make more soon, as I’m not quite comfortable with the level of selfishness I’m currently feeling.  I’m pretty sure that I could sit down and eat it with a spoon (or over ice cream, or in a tart, or …).  In other words: make this.  Make it now.  If you don’t like to can, or just flat out don’t want to, make it anyways and just stick it in the fridge.  Maybe you’ll feel more like sharing than I did if you know it will go bad if you hoard it.

1.5 lb. Rhubarb, diced
2.5 lb. Strawberries, cut in half
1 pkg. Low-sugar Pectin
2 1/2 to 3 C. Sugar
Juice of one Lemon (pref. a Meyer Lemon if you have one)

Makes: about 6 half-pint jars

Sanitize all of your jars.  Place everything in a large stockpot and bring to a boil, stirring all ingredients together as it heats.  After 5 min, take of the heat and mash with a potato masher or puree in a food processor/blender to desired consistency.  Place back on the heat and boil for another 10-15 min, testing every 5 minutes for desired firmness.*  Can according to instructions that came with your jars or pectin.

