(To check out a picture, see the previous post, or click on Diablo Chicken)

Beans, beans, the magical….

Well I’m sure I don’t need to go on.  While packed with fiber and good carbs, these are absolutely delicious.  I like beans, but only when they have a lot of flavor and are slowly cooked.  With my new Isabel’s Cantina cookbook in hand from my birthday (thanks again, Judy), I have been enjoying flavorful and fresh mexican-style cuisine.  It was the perfect gift right before the warm weather finally kicked in.

2- 14oz cans of black beans, rinsed and drained
2 C. cold water
2 T. olive oil
1 medium spanish onion, diced
5 garlic cloves, peeled and minced
1 T. ground cumin
1 T. dried oregano
1 T. chile powder
2 bay leaves
1 T. dried sweet basil
kosher salt to taste

Add all ingredients to a pot and place over medium heat on the stove for about 10 minutes.  Turn the heat down to a simmer and continue cooking for another 15 minutes.  Remove all bay leaves before serving.

