Intentional waste.  I’m not sure exactly how I feel about it.  Most waste in this world is more out of negligence than it is specifically intentional.  Yet, I find that there are a few things that I specifically overbuy in order to justify my vices.  I would like to say that I was trying not to waste bananas in making this cake, yet if I’m being honest, I have to admit that I did, in fact, knowingly buy more bananas than I knew I could consume in a reasonable amount of time.  Why?  Because this cake is one of my favorites.  Perfect with a cup of coffee in the morning, it’s moist and wonderful.  I’ve experimented around with using partial wheat flour and applesauce in place of some of the oil.  It all works, but somehow I find myself always coming back to this original recipe and in a bunt pan, this is absolutely wonderful.

3/4 C. oil
1 egg
1 egg white
1 1/2 C. Sugar
1 1/2 t. vanilla
3 smashed over-ripe bananas

2 1/4 C. Flour
1 1/2 t. baking soda
3/4 t. baking powder
3/4 tsp. nutmeg

3/4 C. brown sugar
Cinnamon to taste

Mix together first set of wet ingredients, then slowly add the second set of dry. Place in a buttered/floured bunt pan and sprinkle the cinnamon-brown sugar on top. Swirl in with a knife. Bake at 350F for about 40-45 min.

